My First Love   1 comment

I remembered running into her arms when i was being threatened by a group of boys in school

She received me in her arms, embraced me and ‎​ patted me on the head.

i remembered when i was 5years old during one of her trips outside the country, she got me what we all know as “to-match” designer jacket and‎​ shoes, yeah i saw a picture and‎​ how i beamed with smile in it.

Pleasant memories i won’t forget in a jiffy. Across the world today, we celebrate mothers, but i celebrate mine every day. i keep wondering why we don’t attach much importance to our fathers. Well the father is equally important because if it wasn’t for his X or Y chromosomes, i wouldn’t be a man today thanks to his Y-chromosomes. So let’s celebrate them as well.

My mother, the mother of kings and‎​ queens, a woman who carried and‎​ bore pains for me for 9months

She made sure i was well fed, i vomited on her even when i was over fed but with tender touch she wipes it off

As a baby when i release the odious bomb, she looks at me and‎​ smile and‎​ i smile back even though i didn’t know what i did. Not anymore now! She won’t hesitate to remind me of “Oroki herbal mixture”

She stayed awake and‎​ watched me in my cot all night she probably was scared of a cot death.

She became my early source of inspiration, her words gave me direction in the most bewildered state.

She raised me to be an understanding and‎​ caring man.

She would stay awake all night, on her knees and‎​ pray for me. She would call me up every morning just to pray with me.

You stayed with me through thick and‎​ thin,and‎​ you taught me how to remain strong in the face of adversity

In many words and‎​ sentences, i can’t describe the joy in me while i wrote this piece. You are a woman of inestimable worth and‎​ i appreciate you my mother. Thank you so much for being there.

i dedicate this blog post to my mother, and‎​ to all mothers across the world, Am i forgetting something…no i won’t…yes and‎​ to all ladies i have met at some point in life who will become a mother.

i should stop here for now as i am literally shedding tears of joy. Love you all.

HappƔ‎​‎​ Mother’s day!!!

Lekan Omodunbi Daniels is a Customer Care Consultant and an aspiring Human Resources Professional

Posted March 18, 2012 by Lekan Daniels in My thoughts

One response to “My First Love

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sweet!

Leave a Reply

