Let’s Face our Worst Fear   5 comments

Let’s Face Our Worst Fears

“But I will never stop loving him nor fail to keep my promise to him.” (Psalm 89:33)

What’s Your Worst Fear?

What’s your worst fear? If you’re like me, it’s not spiders, public speaking, or heights. It’s much deeper than that. To see if am normal, I googled to find the top human fears, and I found I wasn’t alone. Let’s see if you identify with them too.

Top 10 Human Fears

Here they are: Losing your freedom; the unknown; pain; disappointment; misery; loneliness; ridicule; rejection; death; and failure. Wow, that about sums it up, doesn’t it? I can identify with so many of those. How about you? Actually, what’s “funny” is that some on that list are worse to me than death. Lifelong failure, for one, is something I would rather die than face. But really, beneath that fear of failure is the fear of not being loved; since to me, the point of success is to get people to love and value me. Growing up, I thought that my worth came from succeeding, so I always tried so hard to do everything right. But then, I went through a time where I purposefully tried to fail at everything (and did a pretty good job), because I wanted to see if people would still love me if I failed.

Jesus Brings You Unfailing Love

I would guess you’re not too unlike me. Maybe for you, it’s not failure; it’s something else. But the root of it is that you want love. That’s the way God created you. There’s a verse in the Bible that says: “What a man desires is unfailing love.” (Proverbs 19:22) Unfailing love: The kind of love that doesn’t quit when you fail or something unexpected happens. It doesn’t quit when someone ridicules you or you let someone down and mess up. God’s love never fails. In fact, here’s an extensive list of all the things that cannot conquer God’s love for you:

“I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love which Christ Jesus our Lord shows us. We can’t be separated by death or life, by angels or rulers, by anything in the present or anything in the future, by forces or powers in the world above or in the world below, or by anything else in creation.” (Romans 8:38-39)

God’s Love Insurance Policy

That is a Love Insurance Coverage Policy that covers everything. It covers divorce, depression, failure, heartache, financial difficulty, not knowing what to do, ignorance, disease, loneliness, and the list goes on. There is nothing that God would take His love away from you for. In fact, that’s why He gave His only Son to die for you: Love. Jesus said, “For God so loved the world, He gave His only Son, so that whoever believes in Him would not die but have eternal life.” (John 3:16) If God was willing to sacrifice His only Son, don’t you think He would go to the depths and the heights to keep His love over you, once He has paid so much for your life?

The Cure To Fear

I know that you’re probably dealing with a lot of fears. I am too. Fear of failure; fear of loneliness; fear of ridicule; the list goes on. But Jesus wants to conquer our fears with His love. 1 John 4:18 says, “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear.” God has that perfect love to drive out your fear. Imagine that your house is filled with little flies, buzzing all around you, bothering you. That’s what your fears feel like in your head, don’t they? God wants to drive them out by the wind of His love. You just need to open the windows in your mind, especially when you’re feeling the buzzing, and just pray, “Holy Spirit, let the wind of Your unfailing love come and drive out all of my little (and big) fears.” When you face loneliness, for example, buzzing around in your head, saying “You’ll always be alone! No one will ever love you!”, you can pray, “Holy Spirit, fill me with Your love” and then just say, “God LOVES me. No matter what. I will always have His unconditional, never-failing love.”

Open Up the Windows

If you have been dealing with a whole lot of fear-buzzing in your head (and I know what that’s like), I want you to take a moment right now and ask the Holy Spirit to open up the windows in your heart and mind and let His overwhelming love fill your inner house and drive our the fear. Remember, God says, “Perfect love drives out fear.” So whenever you’re facing fears this week (or ever), draw upon God’s great love insurance policy for you. It never fails, and nothing can conquer it. And as you let His consuming love in your house, your fears will begin to weaken and weaken until they no longer have a hold on you. That is my prayer for me and you: that God’s love would cast out all of our fears, in Jesus’ name. Take that moment right now and confess your fears to God and ask Him to take control of each one and soothe you with His amazing, healing love. Today can be the start of His love taking control of your fears.

I love you.

Have an excellent week.

follow me on twitter

Posted August 5, 2012 by lekanomodunbi in Motivation

Tagged with , ,

5 responses to “Let’s Face our Worst Fear

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Are You Consumed With All Kinds Of Fear? | mapassion5

  2. This is a very inspiring piece. It is true that we are always faced with all sorts of fears, but these fears eventually dissipate once we remind ourselves of the inimitable love of God.

  3. Pingback: Revolution of Love | New Heaven on Earth!

  4. Pingback: A Farewell Tribute to My Angel – Part 12 | Sharon Penner

  5. I love this. Its really inspiring

Leave a Reply

